FolioLanternBeta
EXEExpand Energy · Insider ownership research

Expand Energy insiders: what they own and what they did with it

None of it through sales. No officer or director reported an open-market sale in this period.

Updated Oct 9, 2026 from SEC filings · covers Oct 10, 2025 to Oct 9, 2026
3
buyers among officers and directors (7 trades), past 12 months
0 of 17
officers and directors sold shares, past 12 months
Recent activity · past 30 days, Sep 10, 2026 to Oct 9, 2026

No officer or director trades were reported for the past 30 days. The most recent before that:

Jun 12, 2026Michael Wichterich bought 1K shares ($89K). The total stake went from 84K to 85K shares that day.
WhoSharesPrice% of total stakeTotal stake afterTrade dateFiled
Michael Wichterich
Interim President and CEO, Director
1,000$88.90n/a85KJun 12, 2026Jun 15, 2026

"% of total stake" is the shares in this event against all the vested shares the person held that day, across every share class and holding entity, after that day's vesting. "n/a" means the person's holdings don't reconcile, or the row is a purchase. "Holdings record incomplete" means more shares were sold than the filings show the person held that day, so a percentage would be wrong.

Is this normal? Less than usual: no sales, against a 5-year average of 15K shares a year. 0 insiders sold; the average is 1 a year. Year by year
Latest filing: Filed Jun 15 for a purchase on Jun 12. Michael Wichterich bought 1K shares ($89K). Filing
27 SEC ownership filings in the period · See the evidence

What stands out

Three insiders bought shares: Michael Wichterich (4K shares, $397K), Marcel Teunissen (4K shares, $379K) and Matthew Gallagher (1K shares, $101K).Michael Wichterich: purchase, Mar 6, 2026 · Marcel Teunissen: purchase, May 7, 2026 · Matthew Gallagher: purchase, Feb 19, 2026
Tax withholding outweighed market sales: the company withheld $2.5M of officers' and directors' shares for taxes, against $0 sold on the open market. The largest was Joshua Viets ($1.1M withheld).Largest withholding, Mar 15, 2026

Percentages cover all 17 officers and directors. Disclosed company stock is not an insider's whole wealth.

Common questions

Is the Expand Energy CEO selling stock?

No. Domenic Dell'Osso Jr. reported no open-market sales in the past 12 months.

Are any Expand Energy insiders buying?

Yes. 3 officers or directors reported 7 purchases in the past 12 months (Form 4 code P, which includes private purchases).

The evidence

The full ownership picture17 of 17 insiders fully reconciled · 17 officers and directors

Vested shares across all share classes, held directly and through trusts, LLCs and family members, as reported on SEC Forms 3, 4 and 5. Unvested awards and options are never counted as owned shares.

InsiderHeld Oct 9, 2025SoldHeld Oct 9, 2026Still held
Domenic Dell'Osso Jr.
President and CEO, Director
167K0167Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Domenic Dell'Osso Jr.
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
103K → 103Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock166,715166,715
Michael Wichterich
Interim President and CEO, Director
65K085Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Michael Wichterich
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
0 → 17Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock64,64285,498
Christopher Lacy
i
Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
EVP - General Counsel
63K059Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Christopher Lacy
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−10Kwithheld by the company for taxes
13K → 26Kunvested awards, start → end
  • Includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed.
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
Direct
includes unvested RSUs, amount not disclosed
Common Stock63,47059,031
Joshua Viets
EVP & COO
62K077Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Joshua Viets
+15Kshares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−10Kwithheld by the company for taxes
48K → 73Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock61,67677,037
John Gass
Director
34K034Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for John Gass
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock34,10234,102
JOHNSON S P IV
Director
18K020Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for JOHNSON S P IV
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock17,56419,895
Brian Steck
Director
18K020Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Brian Steck
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock17,51220,258
Matthew Gallagher
Director
17K020Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Matthew Gallagher
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock16,91720,248
Timothy Duncan
Director
17K019Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Timothy Duncan
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock16,72019,051
Brittany Raiford
VP, Interim CFO & Treasurer
16K018Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Brittany Raiford
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−1.2Kwithheld by the company for taxes
1K → 4.6Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock16,05618,448
Benjamin Duster
Director
16K018Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Benjamin Duster
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock15,60117,932
Sarah Emerson
Director
16K018Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Sarah Emerson
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock15,60117,932
Daniel Turco
EVP-Marketing & Commercial
14K019Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Daniel Turco
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−1.5Kwithheld by the company for taxes
14K → 27Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock14,33018,508
Gregory Larson
VP-Accounting & Controller
12K015Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Gregory Larson
+953shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−798withheld by the company for taxes
4K → 6.4Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock12,03314,560
Shameek Konar
Director
7.7K010Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Shameek Konar
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock7,71110,042
Catherine Kehr
Director
7K09.3Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Catherine Kehr
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock7,0049,335
Marcel Teunissen
i
Started reporting during the period; starting holdings are from the Form 3.
EVP & CFO
2K011Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Marcel Teunissen
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
0 → 12Kunvested awards, start → end
  • Started reporting during the period; starting holdings are from the Form 3.
Held throughShare classOct 9, 2025Oct 9, 2026
DirectCommon Stock2,00011,144

17 of 17 insiders fully reconciled: starting holdings plus reported transactions match ending holdings (17 exactly, 0 with a minor or footnoted difference). Percentages cover all 17 officers and directors. "Still held" compares ending with starting vested shares; a plus sign means the holding grew.

Is this normal? Selling year by year5 earlier years to compare with

Less than usual: no sales, against a 5-year average of 15K shares a year. 0 insiders sold; the average is 1 a year.

12 months endingShares soldInsiders who soldProceeds
Oct 9, 2026
Latest 12 months
00$0
Oct 9, 2025
1 year earlier
44K1$4.3M
Oct 9, 2024
2 years earlier
00$0
Oct 10, 2023
3 years earlier
00$0
Oct 10, 2022
4 years earlier
00$0
Oct 10, 2021
5 years earlier
30K4$64K

Open-market sales (Form 4 code S) by people who were officers or directors, in split-adjusted shares. Earlier years include people who have since left. A sale that an outside holder also reports (a family trust, a fund) is counted with outside holders in every year. Shares, not dollars, are compared, so a change in the stock price doesn't look like a change in selling. Years the filings don't fully cover are shown but left out of the average.

Known gaps and uncertaintyEvery officer and director reconciles

Every officer and director reconciles for this period.

Inferred rename: "Trust" is treated as the same holder as "GRAT1", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (113,750 shares). Old name, new name

Inferred rename: "Esquisto Holdings, LLC" is treated as the same holder as "On November 12, 2019, each of Esquisto Holdings, LLC", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (139,559,070 shares). Old name, new name

Inferred rename: "WHE AcqCo Holdings, LLC" is treated as the same holder as "Acquisition Co", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (13,398,161 shares). Old name, new name

Inferred rename: "NGP XI US Holdings, L.P" is treated as the same holder as "them to their equity holders, including NGP XI US Holdings, L.P", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (47,042,897 shares). Old name, new name

Inferred rename: "WHR Holdings, LLC" is treated as the same holder as "and WHR Holdings, LLC", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (110,812,594 shares). Old name, new name

Inferred rename: "BX Vine Intermediate Holdco L.P. after the sales reported herein" is treated as the same holder as "BX Vine Intermediate Holdco L.P", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (1,165,899 shares). Old name, new name

External context: we only cite outside events when a documented connection exists. None is shown for this period.

Sources and methodology1,933 filings from SEC EDGAR, and how we read them

All 1,933 Forms 3, 4 and 5 filed for Expand Energy (SEC CIK 895126) from Apr 8, 2002 to Jun 15, 2026, retrieved from SEC EDGAR on Oct 9, 2026. Prices are the ones reported in each filing, often weighted averages. 24 filings were left out because Expand Energy filed them as an owner of another company's stock. 74 older filings exist only on paper and could not be read.

Holdings. Each holding line (a share class plus an owner, such as a trust or LLC) carries its last reported balance forward. Entities first reported during the period start at zero, so transfers between an insider's own trusts don't count as selling. Lines not reported for three years or more are listed separately and left out of totals.

Sales. A sale counts as under a 10b5-1 plan if its footnote cites one or the filing's Rule 10b5-1 box is checked, and as tax-related if its footnote cites tax obligations or sell-to-cover. Shares withheld by the company for taxes are listed separately. Sales with neither attribute are labeled "no plan disclosed".

Full methodology

Former or inactive filers (58)No filing in 18 months; last reported balances, not in any total
NameLast filedLast reported balance
Mohit SinghMar 17, 202558,995 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 15, 2025
Benjamin RussJun 18, 202428,617 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 16, 2024
Blackstone Holdings III L.P.Aug 8, 202225,490,498 shares, last reported balance as of Aug 2, 2022
BX Vine ML Holdco L.P.Apr 29, 202211,500,000 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 29, 2022
Partners LtdMar 29, 202221,790,270 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 25, 2022
James WebbJan 4, 2021No balance on record
Robert LawlerDec 28, 2020No balance on record
Frank PattersonDec 18, 2020No balance on record
Luke CorbettOct 2, 20201 shares, last reported balance as of Sep 30, 2020
William BuerglerOct 2, 2020355 shares, last reported balance as of Sep 30, 2020
Thomas RyanSep 30, 2020900 shares, last reported balance as of Sep 28, 2020
Brad MartinSep 29, 2020375 shares, last reported balance as of Sep 25, 2020
CG Subsidiary Holdings L.L.C.Jan 13, 2020172,897,387 shares, last reported balance as of Jan 1, 2020
David HayesNov 13, 2019407,795 shares, last reported balance as of Nov 12, 2019
Scott GieselmanNov 13, 2019487,877 shares, last reported balance as of Nov 12, 2019
NGP Energy Capital Management, L.L.C.Nov 12, 2019204,171,234 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 1, 2019
Gloria BoylandOct 3, 2019237,128 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 1, 2019
Leslie KeatingOct 3, 2019267,896 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 1, 2019
Merrill Miller Jr.May 21, 2019489,009 shares, last reported balance as of May 17, 2019
Mark EdmundsMay 21, 2019125,507 shares, last reported balance as of May 17, 2019
Jason PigottMar 21, 20191,439,641 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 19, 2019
CP VI Eagle Holdings, L.P.Feb 11, 2019172,897,387 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 1, 2019
Archie DunhamDec 26, 20189,347,375 shares, last reported balance as of Dec 21, 2018
Michael JohnsonMar 17, 2017625,332 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 15, 2017
Kimberly QuerreyOct 5, 2016523,191 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 3, 2016
Vincent IntrieriJul 5, 2016143,193 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 1, 2016
John LipinskiJul 5, 2016121,156 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 1, 2016
Frederic PosesApr 5, 2016758,757 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 1, 2016
Christopher DoyleJan 19, 2016552,317 shares, last reported balance as of Jan 14, 2016
Louis RaspinoJan 6, 2016117,759 shares, last reported balance as of Jan 4, 2016
Douglas JacobsonJul 2, 2015828,249 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 1, 2015
Carl IcahnMar 23, 201573,050,000 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 11, 2015
John KapchinskeFeb 2, 2015354,550 shares, last reported balance as of Jan 29, 2015
John ReinhartJul 3, 2014127,114 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 2, 2014
Bob AlexanderApr 3, 201432,558 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 1, 2014
Jennifer GrigsbyApr 2, 2014262,744 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 31, 2014
Martha BurgerAug 28, 2013255,324 shares, last reported balance as of Aug 28, 2013
Steven DixonAug 26, 20131,363,230 shares, last reported balance as of Aug 13, 2013
Steven DixonAug 26, 201310,000 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 1, 2010
Jeffrey FisherJul 3, 2013383,799 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 1, 2013
Aubrey McClendonApr 2, 20133,187,995 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 31, 2013
Burns HargisMar 11, 201371,235 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 7, 2013
Louis SimpsonMar 11, 2013545,096 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 7, 2013
Henry HoodOct 2, 2012704,429 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 1, 2012
Richard DavidsonJul 11, 2012422,459 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 9, 2012
Frank KeatingJun 25, 201268,049 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 21, 2012
Kathleen EisbrennerJun 25, 201220,427 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 21, 2012
Charlest MaxwellJun 11, 2012209,640 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 8, 2012
Donald NicklesJun 11, 2012102,602 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 7, 2012
SOUTHEASTERN ASSET MANAGEMENT INC/TN/May 22, 201292,025,093 shares, last reported balance as of May 14, 2012
Marcus RowlandFeb 11, 2011293,841 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 26, 2010
Frederick WhittemoreJun 14, 2010221,790 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 10, 2010
Frederick WhittemoreJun 14, 201041,750 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 10, 2010
Mark LesterFeb 2, 2010315,458 shares, last reported balance as of Jan 29, 2010
Mark LesterFeb 2, 20104,125 shares, last reported balance as of Jan 29, 2010
Breene KerrJul 2, 2008245,000 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 1, 2008
Tom WardMay 9, 200615,796,379 shares, last reported balance as of Jan 25, 2006
Shannon SelfApr 4, 2005232,972 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 24, 2005

Spotted something wrong on this page? Report an error. We check every report against the SEC filing and list what we fix in the corrections log.