FolioLantern
AOSA. O. Smith · Insider ownership research

A. O. Smith insiders sold $111K in the past 12 months. How much of their stake is that?

Insiders sold $111K, 0% under disclosed plans. Their starting stakes can't be measured from the filings because the sellers' holdings don't reconcile with their reported transactions.

Updated Oct 8, 2026 from SEC filings · covers Oct 9, 2025 to Oct 8, 2026
0
buyers among officers and directors, past 12 months
0%
of sales were under disclosed trading plans, past 12 months
1 of 25
officers and directors sold shares, past 12 months
Recent activity · past 30 days, Sep 9, 2026 to Oct 8, 2026

No officer or director trades were reported for the past 30 days. The most recent before that:

Mar 4, 2026Darrell Schuh sold 1.1K shares ($82K) with no plan disclosed.
WhoSharesPrice% of total stakeTotal stake afterTrade dateFiled
Darrell Schuh
SVP; President & GM Lochinvar
1,104$74.39n/an/aMar 4, 2026Mar 4, 2026

"% of total stake" is the shares in this event against all the vested shares the person held that day, across every share class and holding entity, after that day's vesting. "n/a" means the person's holdings don't reconcile, or the row is a purchase. "Holdings record incomplete" means more shares were sold than the filings show the person held that day, so a percentage would be wrong.

Is this normal? Less than usual: less than one-twentieth of the 5-year average. 1 insider sold; the average is 9 a year. Year by year
Latest filing: Filed Apr 15 for a stock award on Apr 13. Mark Smith received an award of 2.3K shares. Filing
44 SEC ownership filings in the period · See the evidence

What stands out

Tax withholding outweighed market sales: the company withheld $2.2M of officers' and directors' shares for taxes, against $111K sold on the open market. The largest was Kevin Wheeler ($1.4M withheld).Largest withholding, Feb 13, 2026

Percentages cover 16 of 25 officers and directors. 9 are left out

i
Left out: Darrell Schuh (holdings couldn't be fully reconciled); Ronald Brown, Jack Qiu, Parag Kulkarni, Stephen Shafer, Paul Jones, Christopher Howe, Aaron Saak and Carrie Anderson (held no vested shares at the start).
Disclosed company stock is not an insider's whole wealth.

Who sold, and how much of their stake

Officers and directors, past 12 months. Each bar is the insider's vested stake at the start of the period (Oct 8, 2025). The gold part is what they sold.

SoldRest of starting stakeAdded during the period
Darrell Schuh
SVP; President & GM Lochinvar
No bar: holdings couldn't be fully reconciled.
$111KNo plan disclosed
Amounts, filings and trading plans for each seller

Selling by month

Officers and directors, Oct 2025 to Oct 2026. Each sale is counted once: under a disclosed plan, else to cover taxes, else no plan disclosed.

Disclosed planTo cover taxesNo plan disclosed
OctNovDecJanFeb 2026: $28K to cover taxesFebMar 2026: $82K no plan disclosed$82KMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOct

Common questions

Is the A. O. Smith CEO selling stock?

No. Stephen Shafer reported no open-market sales in the past 12 months.

Why are A. O. Smith insiders selling?

Filings rarely give a reason, and we don't guess at one. What they show is how the sales were made: 0% of sales by value ran under 10b5-1 trading plans disclosed in the filings, 26% were to cover taxes and 74% had no disclosed plan. A trading plan schedules sales in advance.

Are any A. O. Smith insiders buying?

No. Officers and directors reported no purchases in the past 12 months.

The evidence

Who sold1 officer or director: amount, % of holdings, trading plan
Who soldAmount% of holdingsTrading plan
Darrell Schuh
SVP; President & GM Lochinvar
$111K
1.5K shares
i
No percentage: holdings couldn't be fully reconciled.
No plan disclosed
The full ownership picture24 of 25 insiders fully reconciled · 17 officers and directors

Vested shares across all share classes, held directly and through trusts, LLCs and family members, as reported on SEC Forms 3, 4 and 5. Unvested awards and options are never counted as owned shares.

InsiderHeld Oct 8, 2025SoldHeld Oct 8, 2026Still held
Mark Smith
Director
406K0409Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Mark Smith
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
In trustClass A Common Stock270,776270,776
SpouseClass A Common Stock3,6763,676
DirectCommon Stock116,242118,504
SpouseCommon Stock8,9568,956
In trustCommon Stock6,7736,773
Kevin Wheeler
Executive Chairman, Director
101K0128Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Kevin Wheeler
+36Kshares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−17Kwithheld by the company for taxes
202K → 221Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock100,647128,348
James Stern
Exec VP, Corp Dev, Strat & Sec
99K0102Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for James Stern
+6.8Kshares vested or exercised
−2.5Kgifted (net of own trusts)
−3.2Kwithheld by the company for taxes
38K → 45Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock98,784101,547
Charles Lauber
EVP & CFO
40K047Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Charles Lauber
+9.5Kshares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−4.4Kwithheld by the company for taxes
52K → 62Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock39,85247,119
Ilham Kadri
Director
21K024Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Ilham Kadri
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock21,31723,579
Christopher Mapes
i
Minor difference of 145 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer). New Form 3 filed 2023-04-13; earlier filings set aside.
Director
16K019Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Christopher Mapes
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
  • New Form 3 filed 2023-04-13; earlier filings set aside.
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock6,2778,684
Held in joint tenancy with his wifeCommon Stock10,15010,150

Reconciliation: minor difference of 145 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Michael Larsen
Director
11K011Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Michael Larsen
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
19K → 32Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock11,42511,425
Todd Fister
Director
4.1K06.4Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Todd Fister
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock4,0946,356
Lois Martin
i
Minor difference of 89 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).
Director
4.1K06.4Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Lois Martin
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
none reportedunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock4,0946,445

Reconciliation: minor difference of 89 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Stephen O'Brien
i
Minor difference of 59 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).
SVP; Pres & General Mngr NAWH
3.9K06.5Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Stephen O'Brien
+2.9Kshares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−1.1Kwithheld by the company for taxes
28K → 46Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock3,8996,510

Reconciliation: minor difference of 59 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Douglas Karge
i
Minor difference of 54 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).
SVP - President NA Water Treat
2.7K03.9Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Douglas Karge
+1.4Kshares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−666withheld by the company for taxes
7.7K → 9Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock2,7493,890

Reconciliation: minor difference of 54 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Darrell Schuh
!
Holdings couldn't be fully reconciled. Balance changed without a matching transaction, and the footnote does not state the amount: +356 shares on Feb 13, 2026 (Direct). See the filing Sales and other transactions for Darrell Schuh are complete.
SVP; President & GM Lochinvar
n/a−1.5Kn/an/a
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Darrell Schuh
+1.5Kshares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−356withheld by the company for taxes
7.2K → 7.3Kunvested awards, start → end

Holdings couldn't be fully reconciled. Balance changed without a matching transaction, and the footnote does not state the amount: +356 shares on Feb 13, 2026 (Direct). The balances below are as reported, not verified totals.

Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock2,1502,201

Stock options (not counted as shares):

Options heldStrike priceExpiresIntrinsic value (estimate)
3,300$61.76Feb 12, 2028$42K
3,495$60.82Feb 8, 2031$47K
2,785$74.27Feb 7, 2032$348

Estimate: options held × ($74.39 − strike price), using the most recent insider trade price on Form 4 (Mar 4, 2026), not a market close.

Samuel Carver
SVP - Global Operations
1.6K02.7Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Samuel Carver
+2.6Kshares vested or exercised
−1.1Kgifted (net of own trusts)
−1Kwithheld by the company for taxes
14K → 17Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock1,5692,713
Curtis Selby
Senior VP - H.R. & P.A.
1.3K01.3Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Curtis Selby
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
13K → 17Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock1,3061,306
Benjamin Otchere
i
Minor difference of 26 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).
Vice President and Controller
1.2K02.1Kno sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Benjamin Otchere
+1.5Kshares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
−545withheld by the company for taxes
7.5K → 8.7Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock1,2072,148

Reconciliation: minor difference of 26 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Ming Cheng
SVP, CTO
45045no sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Ming Cheng
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
25K → 29Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock4545
Victoria Holt
Director
10010no sales
Vesting, gifts, unvested awards and holding lines for Victoria Holt
0shares vested or exercised
0gifted (net of own trusts)
19K → 32Kunvested awards, start → end
Held throughShare classOct 8, 2025Oct 8, 2026
DirectCommon Stock1010

24 of 25 insiders fully reconciled: starting holdings plus reported transactions match ending holdings (19 exactly, 5 with a minor or footnoted difference). For 1 we show sales but not holdings; the ! icon on that row explains why. Percentages cover 16 of 25 officers and directors. Left out: Darrell Schuh (holdings couldn't be fully reconciled); Ronald Brown, Jack Qiu, Parag Kulkarni, Stephen Shafer, Paul Jones, Christopher Howe, Aaron Saak and Carrie Anderson (held no vested shares at the start). "Still held" compares ending with starting vested shares; a plus sign means the holding grew.

What explains the selling$111K of sales by plan status, purpose, seller and month

Officer and director open-market sales: $111K across 1,460 shares. Plan status and stated purpose are separate questions, and a sale can have both.

By plan status

No plan disclosed · $82K

Sales with no 10b5-1 plan and no tax reference in the filing. $82K of it is Darrell Schuh. No plan disclosed is a statement about the filing, not about why the sale happened. Largest such sale: Darrell Schuh, Mar 4, 2026

Taxes

$28K of sales (25.7%) cite tax obligations in their footnotes. Separately, 28,346 shares ($2.2M) were withheld by the company for taxes, which isn't a market sale. Example: Darrell Schuh, Feb 13, 2026

SellerShares soldProceedsUnder a disclosed planShare of totalSales dates
Darrell Schuh
SVP; President & GM Lochinvar
1.5K$111K0%100%Feb 13, 2026 to Mar 4, 2026

Sales by month

MonthSale proceedsDisclosed planTo cover taxesNo plan disclosed
Oct 2025$0$0$0$0
Nov 2025$0$0$0$0
Dec 2025$0$0$0$0
Jan 2026$0$0$0$0
Feb 2026$28K$0$28K$0
Mar 2026$82K$0$0$82K
Apr 2026$0$0$0$0
May 2026$0$0$0$0
Jun 2026$0$0$0$0
Jul 2026$0$0$0$0
Aug 2026$0$0$0$0
Sep 2026$0$0$0$0
Oct 2026$0$0$0$0
Is this normal? Selling year by year5 earlier years to compare with

Less than usual: less than one-twentieth of the 5-year average. 1 insider sold; the average is 9 a year.

12 months endingShares soldInsiders who soldProceeds
Oct 8, 2026
Latest 12 months
1.5K1$111K
Oct 8, 2025
1 year earlier
47K6$3.3M
Oct 8, 2024
2 years earlier
341K8$26.8M
Oct 9, 2023
3 years earlier
82K9$5.7M
Oct 9, 2022
4 years earlier
326K7$25.5M
Oct 9, 2021
5 years earlier
515K14$31.6M

Open-market sales (Form 4 code S) by people who were officers or directors, in split-adjusted shares. Earlier years include people who have since left. A sale that an outside holder also reports (a family trust, a fund) is counted with outside holders in every year. Shares, not dollars, are compared, so a change in the stock price doesn't look like a change in selling. Years the filings don't fully cover are shown but left out of the average.

Known gaps and uncertainty1 insider whose holdings couldn't be fully reconciled

Darrell Schuh: holdings couldn't be fully reconciled (difference of 407 shares). Balance changed without a matching transaction, and the footnote does not state the amount: +356 shares on Feb 13, 2026 (Direct). Filing, Feb 13, 2026

Footnote: "Shares withheld by A. O. Smith Corporation to satisfy tax withholding requirements on vesting of restricted stock units."

Christopher Mapes: minor difference of 145 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Lois Martin: minor difference of 89 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Stephen O'Brien: minor difference of 59 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Douglas Karge: minor difference of 54 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Benjamin Otchere: minor difference of 26 shares. Difference is stated in footnotes (unreported vesting, exempt acquisition or transfer).

Inferred rename: "Spouse (SLAT)" is treated as the same holder as "Held in joint tenancy with his wife", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (10,150 shares). Old name, new name

Inferred rename: "grantor retained annuity trust" is treated as the same holder as "grantor retained annuity trust - spouse", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (236,399 shares). Old name, new name

Inferred rename: "Held in spouses revocable trust or grantor retained annuity trusts" is treated as the same holder as "spouse's revocable trust or grantor retained annuity trusts", because the old name was never reported again and the new one opened with the same balance (353,495 shares). Old name, new name

External context: we only cite outside events when a documented connection exists. None is shown for this period.

Sources and methodology1,309 filings from SEC EDGAR, and how we read them

All 1,309 Forms 3, 4 and 5 filed for A. O. Smith (SEC CIK 91142) from Jul 2, 2003 to Jul 2, 2026, retrieved from SEC EDGAR on Oct 8, 2026. Prices are the ones reported in each filing, often weighted averages.

Probable 3-for-2 stock split on or before Nov 15, 2010 (split date stated in a footnote). Splits aren't reported as transactions; 15 holding lines changed by exactly this ratio, so earlier share counts are restated.

Probable 2-for-1 stock split on or before May 15, 2013 (split date stated in a footnote). Splits aren't reported as transactions; 23 holding lines changed by exactly this ratio, so earlier share counts are restated.

Probable 3-for-1 stock split on or before Nov 15, 2010 (split date stated in a footnote). Splits aren't reported as transactions; 2 holding lines changed by exactly this ratio, so earlier share counts are restated.

Probable 2-for-1 stock split on or before Oct 5, 2016 (split date stated in a footnote). Splits aren't reported as transactions; 23 holding lines changed by exactly this ratio, so earlier share counts are restated.

Holdings. Each holding line (a share class plus an owner, such as a trust or LLC) carries its last reported balance forward. Entities first reported during the period start at zero, so transfers between an insider's own trusts don't count as selling. Lines not reported for three years or more are listed separately and left out of totals.

Sales. A sale counts as under a 10b5-1 plan if its footnote cites one or the filing's Rule 10b5-1 box is checked, and as tax-related if its footnote cites tax obligations or sell-to-cover. Shares withheld by the company for taxes are listed separately. Sales with neither attribute are labeled "no plan disclosed".

Full methodology

Former or inactive filers (42)No filing in 18 months; last reported balances, not in any total
NameLast filedLast reported balance
Robert HeidemanFeb 11, 20258,889 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 7, 2025
Stephanie ScheppeleFeb 11, 20253,309 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 7, 2025
Ajita RajendraApr 10, 2024819,060 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 9, 2024
Mark PetrarcaMar 5, 202487,407 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 8, 2024
David WarrenMar 5, 202413,228 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 8, 2024
Idelle WolfFeb 8, 202492,154 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 7, 2024
Earl ExumApr 13, 20234,286 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 11, 2023
Daniel KempkenFeb 22, 20239,087 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 10, 2023
Gene WulfApr 13, 202288,858 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 12, 2022
Patricia AckermanFeb 15, 20221,802 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 11, 2022
Wallace GoodwinFeb 15, 202217,892 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 11, 2022
Anindadeb DasGuptaFeb 15, 20222,377 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 11, 2022
Bruce SmithJul 14, 20218,631,654 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 12, 2021
Helen GurholtMay 12, 20212,744 shares, last reported balance as of May 4, 2021
Paul DanaFeb 18, 20214,021 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 16, 2021
Paul JonesNov 3, 2020178,147 shares, last reported balance as of Nov 2, 2020
William GreubelApr 17, 2020No balance on record
Wei DingFeb 18, 202010,528 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 13, 2020
Peter MartineauFeb 12, 20205,220 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 8, 2019
John KitaFeb 12, 201946,247 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 8, 2019
Wilfridus BrouwerMar 7, 20187,630 shares, last reported balance as of Mar 6, 2018
William Vallett Jr.Feb 13, 201854,688 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 9, 2018
Gloster Current Jr.Apr 17, 201722,120 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 13, 2017
Mathias SandovalApr 12, 2016No balance on record
Randall BednarFeb 16, 201683,820 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 12, 2016
Stephen AndersonFeb 18, 201514,110 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 18, 2015
Steve RettlerFeb 12, 2014110,968 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 10, 2014
Toole OApr 12, 20111,235,952 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 11, 2011
Terry MurphyFeb 14, 2011146,696 shares, last reported balance as of Feb 11, 2011
William BuehlerApr 13, 2010272,358 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 12, 2010
Family SmithApr 24, 200912,208,302 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 22, 2009
Michael ColeFeb 10, 2009254,826 shares, last reported balance as of Dec 17, 2008
Ronald MassaFeb 12, 2008417,204 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 22, 2007
David RomoserApr 25, 2007711,666 shares, last reported balance as of Apr 24, 2007
Charles BishopFeb 12, 2007311,850 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 9, 2006
Albert MediceNov 23, 2005261,486 shares, last reported balance as of Nov 23, 2005
Dennis MartinApr 5, 2005No balance on record
Donald HeinrichJan 27, 2005126,756 shares, last reported balance as of Jun 3, 2004
Edward OconnorOct 13, 2004356,184 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 12, 2004
Kenneth KruegerOct 13, 2004396,000 shares, last reported balance as of Oct 12, 2004
Kathleen HempelJul 20, 200490,828 shares, last reported balance as of Jul 19, 2004
Smith Family Voting TrustNo balance on record